Bella's Blog

learning refresher: accelerated-learning

70% through completing research on some parts of my accelerated-learning notes that I was still confused about. I finished re-reading the book "The Only Skill That Matters" by Jonathon Levi. I started listening to this audiobook in 2022, but since I didn't have a pressing need, I don't remember anything that I listened to. Now, it is so much clearer! Still have to collect my quotes and take notes from the book.

For starters, the first thing I did for my research was check my questions list. I kept this list around on a textfile [where I write all my notes] because I thought I would be using that to clarify any areas where I didn't quite understand, but I ended up throwing away the list.

Most of it wasn't going to be relevant for learning this particular subject I will be intensively studying soon.

A few hours later that same day, I went to study at the park picnic tables near a mountain stream and recited my notes out loud. No one was around. Pretended that I was talking to a group. By reciting my notes out loud, I could see, in real time, where I needed more understanding.

I chose to hone in on my notes of gaining comprehension of a subject [instead of my notes on skill-building] since that is what I will most use for my course [and my skill-building notes are easier to understand so I didn't need a refresh].

I didn't understand particular words & concepts so I consulted past articles and podcasts.

I did this by:

-listening to past episodes that I had saved before. I re-listened to these on 1.25x speed, following along to the transcript on Apple Podcasts. In order to capture the confusing content, I took screenshots of the confusing areas. Then I studied the screenshots that I took. Then I took notes on my answers [in a separate textfile].

I have yet to incorporate them into my old notes.

-reciting my notes into my Voice Memo app in order to listen to myself while taking a walk in my neighborhood. Then, I culled content from my old notes that I knew I wouldn't use.

-prompting ChatGPT to give me a 2 week intensive self-study plan for the particular subject/skill I am choosing to study.

After all, I didn't want to start my course not knowing the difference between three recall methods!

What I learned that I didn't know quite before:

-retrieval practice is an umbrella term for any method of practicing memory retrieval. It encompasses active recall & free recall.

-Active recall is the general practice of getting info out of your head and trying to remember it without looking at your notes or the material.

-free recall is a type of active recall where there's no cues. It's done in ANY order [like freeform dialogue or writing].

-the examples of each of these recall/retrieval methods overlap with each other. The most common are flashcards, self-explanation, practice tests, self-quizzing, summarizing, brain dumps & recitation.

-retrieval practice occurs after the notetaking/instruction phase & after the "spacing" phase ["spacing" is practicing the material in intervals thereby "spacing out" your learning within a range of time]

-"Pegs" or "Pegwords" are words that serve as a "peg" on which you can "hang" the info. The Memory Castle is a peg, linking is a peg, anything really can be a peg. Now I understand!

-"Pegging" is the act of linking one thing to another thing. It's used for lists. "Pegs" are also known as associations, links, markers.

-"The Pegword System" is when you create associative imagery of concrete objects representing letters of the alphabet. There are 3 methods.

-elaborative learning/elaboration is the act of linking new info to old info, then elaborating on those connections. It's part of the phase in learning where you make connections [before the practice phase]. Examples of elaborative learning are creating examples, analyzing, questioning, creating associations, elaborative interrogation, and asking explanatory questions.

-"elaborative encoding" is a term used in Anthony Metivier's mnemonic system "The Magnetic Memory Method" [which is my favorite mnmemonic system]. It involves elaborating on associative imagery using very multi-sensory concrete, personal, & various associations.

-"The Question Book Method" is a method used in retrieval practice because it involves practice tests and self-testing.

Now that it's less confusing, I can apply it to the Udemy course!

Feeling excited.